BSP sells commemorative coins in honor of Filipino heroes Magbanua, Ponce, Aguinaldo

October 19, 2021 - 5:35 PM
Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas headquarters in Manila. The central bank’s first quarter Consumer Expectations Survey (CES) for 2018 showed an index of 1.7 percent, down from the previous quarter’s 9.5 percent and year-ago’s 8.7 percent. (Reuters file photo)

The Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas on Tuesday announced that it is selling three commemorative coins that featured Filipino heroes Teresa Magbanua, Mariano Ponce and Emilio Aguinaldo.

“Commemorative coins for sale! The BSP is pleased to announce that three commemorative Coins featuring Filipino heroes are now available at the BSP Store,” read the post.

All three coins are colored in Nordic gold and cost P350 each.

Short descriptions of Magbanua, Ponce and Aguinaldo were also provided by BSP.

Teresa Magbanua

Magbanua, who was also a school teacher, was remembered as the first Filipina who led the battle against the Spaniards in Panay in 1898.

Her military contributions earned her the nickname “Visayan Joan of Arc.”

“She fought in several battles against invading American forces as well. During the Japanese occupation, she sold her belongings to help fund the local guerrilla fighters in her hometown,” read the post.

BSP minted the commemorative coin for Magbanua to celebrate her 150th birth anniversary.

Mariano Ponce

Ponce, who was born in Baliuag, Bulacan, was among the prominent members of the Propaganda Movement alongside Jose Rizal, Marcelo del Pilar and Lopez Jaena.

BSP minted his commemorative coin to celebrate his 100th death anniversary.

The description in the post read:

“He assisted Jaena in founding La Solidaridad in Barcelona, Spain on 12 February 1889. As managing editor, he wrote regularly for La Solidaridad on history, politics, sociology, and travel under various pseudonyms, such as Naning, Kalipulako, and Tigbalang.”

Emilio Aguinaldo

Aguinaldo, the first president of the Republic of the Philippines, declared the historic Philippines’ independence from Spain on 12 June 1898.

BSP created the commemorative coin to honor his 150th birth anniversary.

“He was instrumental in leading the Philippine forces against the Spaniards during the Philippine Revolution (1896–1898) and against the United States during the Philippine–American War (1899–1901),” read BSP’s description.